does anyone have a good method for a menu drop down that'll work in all browsers..ie6, 7, 8, firefox, safari & google chrome. I use a drop down now, but it doesn't work properly in chrome.
I have a really simple little drop down on LeeFish. Its only one level deep, but its ok in all IE6, Opera, Safari, FireFox and Chrome.
If its what you want I can tell you how I made it. Its mainly template edits ....
http://www.leefish.nl/mybb/portal.php
(08-09-2010 12:49 AM)leefish Wrote: [ -> ]I have a really simple little drop down on LeeFish. Its only one level deep, but its ok in all IE6, Opera, Safari, FireFox and Chrome.
If its what you want I can tell you how I made it. Its mainly template edits ....
http://www.leefish.nl/mybb/portal.php
that's exactly what I'm looking for...
Its using the built in mybb popup menu code: RateU showed me how to do it. I am busy with another thing right now, but I will post the template edits for you tomorrow if that is ok.
(08-09-2010 07:17 AM)leefish Wrote: [ -> ]Its using the built in mybb popup menu code: RateU showed me how to do it. I am busy with another thing right now, but I will post the template edits for you tomorrow if that is ok.
no worries...
if he helped you on here and you got a link where he helped you..link me to it and I'll try to figure it out.
Hi there, this is the code I use in my dropdown menu:
Code:
<br />
<div>
<strong><span><a href="#" id="forumlink_{$memprofile['uid']}">Site Areas <img src="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/mybb/images/NewFish/thing.gif" alt="Click to View Site Links"/></a></span></strong>
<div id="forumlink_{$memprofile['uid']}_popup" class="popup_menu" style="display: none;"><span></span>
<div class="popup_item_container">
<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/mybb/portal.php" class="popup_item"><span class="smalltext">Home Page</span></a>
</div>
<div class="popup_item_container">
<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/mybb/index.php" class="popup_item"><span class="smalltext">All Areas</span></a>
</div>
<div class="popup_item_container">
<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/mybb/forumdisplay.php?fid=1" class="popup_item"><span class="smalltext">The Bowl</span></a>
</div>
<div class="popup_item_container">
<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/mybb/forumdisplay.php?fid=6" class="popup_item"><span class="smalltext">SimFish</span></a>
</div>
<div class="popup_item_container">
<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/mybb/forumdisplay.php?fid=3" class="popup_item"><span class="smalltext">Random Fish</span></a>
</div>
<div class="popup_item_container">
<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/mybb/forumdisplay.php?fid=9" class="popup_item"><span class="smalltext">Code Fish</span></a>
</div>
<div class="popup_item_container">
<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/mybb/games.php" class="popup_item"><span class="smalltext">Games Section</span></a>
</div>
</div>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
new PopupMenu("forumlink_{$memprofile['uid']}");
// -->
</script>
</div>
|
You will see that I use "forumlink" 3 times in this code; you can call your link whatever you like, but it must be called the same in all 3 instances.
I have this as a separate template which is linked to my header. If you wanted it in the default header you would have this:
Code:
<div id="container">
<a name="top" id="top"></a>
<div id="header">
<div class="logo"><a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/index.php"><img src="{$theme['logo']}" alt="{$mybb->settings['bbname']}" title="{$mybb->settings['bbname']}" /></a></div>
<div class="menu">
<ul>
<li><a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/search.php"><img src="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/{$theme['imgdir']}/toplinks/search.gif" alt="" title="" />{$lang->toplinks_search}</a></li>
<li><a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/memberlist.php"><img src="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/{$theme['imgdir']}/toplinks/memberlist.gif" alt="" title="" />{$lang->toplinks_memberlist}</a></li>
<li><a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/calendar.php"><img src="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/{$theme['imgdir']}/toplinks/calendar.gif" alt="" title="" />{$lang->toplinks_calendar}</a></li>
<li><a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/misc.php?action=help"><img src="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/{$theme['imgdir']}/toplinks/help.gif" alt="" title="" />{$lang->toplinks_help}</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
<hr class="hidden" />
<div id="panel">
{$welcomeblock}
</div>
</div>
<table><tr>
<td>{$site_links}</td>
<td>{$help_links}</td>
</tr></table>
<hr class="hidden" />
<br class="clear" />
<div id="content">
{$pm_notice}
{$bannedwarning}
{$bbclosedwarning}
{$unreadreports}
<navigation>
<br />
|
By adding more templates and linking to them then you can have a list across your header like mine.
I use the global templates plugin for this (I think you can do it with php in templates and template conditionals but I can't work that out). The global templates plugin does work with 1.6. Alternatively you can just put the code in from the first codeblock I posted where it says {$site_links} in the second codeblock.
I was typing - sadly, RateU closed the forum where his neat tutorial for this was posted - maybe he has a copy of it. He explains better than me.
Hmm, I should add that you can have multiple drop downs on the pages etc but each one must have its own name - so once you have used forumlink you cant use that one again. Call the next one helplink (use helplink in all three instances), then memberlink etc etc.
I'll give that a try tonight, leefish..thanks!
Lee,
how would I get the 'drop down' on the same row as the standard top links like search, help, memberlist, etc..
(08-09-2010 02:34 PM)Shemo Wrote: [ -> ]Lee,
how would I get the 'drop down' on the same row as the standard top links like search, help, memberlist, etc..
You have to add the same code (provided by Lee above ^) in
header template.
Hi Shemo, you can do it like this, but in my layout I got rid of the standard links:
Code:
<div id="container">
<a name="top" id="top"></a>
<div id="header">
<div class="logo"><a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/index.php"><img src="{$theme['logo']}" alt="{$mybb->settings['bbname']}" title="{$mybb->settings['bbname']}" /></a></div>
<table><tr>
<td>{$site_links}</td>
<td>{$featured}</td>
<td>{$dl_links}</td>
<td>{$help_link}</td>
<td><a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/misc.php?action=help"><img src="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/{$theme['imgdir']}/toplinks/help.gif" alt="" title="" />{$lang->toplinks_help}</a></td>
<td><a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/calendar.php"><img src="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/{$theme['imgdir']}/toplinks/calendar.gif" alt="" title="" />{$lang->toplinks_calendar}</a></td>
<td><a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/memberlist.php"><img src="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/{$theme['imgdir']}/toplinks/memberlist.gif" alt="" title="" />{$lang->toplinks_memberlist}</a></td>
<td><a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/search.php"><img src="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/{$theme['imgdir']}/toplinks/search.gif" alt="" title="" />{$lang->toplinks_search}</a></td>
</tr></table>
<hr class="hidden" />
<div id="panel">
{$welcomeblock}
</div>
</div>
<hr class="hidden" />
<br class="clear" />
<div id="content">
{$pm_notice}
{$bannedwarning}
{$bbclosedwarning}
{$unreadreports}
<navigation>
<br />
|