Avoid showing "Quote" button on 1st post of thread
gringo Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2015
Post: #1
Avoid showing "Quote" button on 1st post of thread
Hi. I hope to be able to find a solution to this nuisance. I have to qualify that nuisance variable. I am sick and tired of members quoting the first post of a thread since we post longish tutorials on that post, so we'd like to avoid people quoting said 1st post.

Is there a plugin, script, etc, that will hide the "Quote" button from the first post of a thread ONLY?

Thanks very much for your assistance.
12-23-2015 11:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #2
RE: Avoid showing "Quote" button on 1st post of thread
You can install PHP in Templates / Complex Templates or Template Conditionals plugin.
Use this condition in your postbit_quote button (depends on your theme):

HTML Code
<if $post['pid'] != $GLOBALS['thread']['firstpost'] then>
....
</if>


For example (based on the default MyBB 1.8* template):

HTML Code
<if $post['pid'] != $GLOBALS['thread']['firstpost'] then>
	<a href="newreply.php?tid={$tid}&amp;replyto={$post['pid']}" title="{$lang->postbit_quote}" class="postbit_quote"><span>{$lang->postbit_button_quote}</span></a>
</if>


You can do that also for postbit_multiquote template if you want.

Other alternative is by using CSS.


12-24-2015 01:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gringo Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 2
Joined: Dec 2015
Post: #3
RE: Avoid showing "Quote" button on 1st post of thread
Thanks a lot. I'll give your suggestion a go.
12-25-2015 01:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

 Standard Tools
Forum Jump: