Benefits of imagecreate ?
mdb Offline
Benefits of imagecreate ?
Hey guys,
So on my forum I wanted to apply a grayscale filter to a few of my images. I did it using this method:

PHP Code:
$pic = imagecreatefrompng('images/spray.png');
imagefilter($pic, IMG_FILTER_GRAYSCALE);
imagesavealpha($pic, true);
imagepng($pic, 'images/spray_grayscale.png');
imagedestroy($pic);

However I noticed anytime someone views this page where that code is running, it re-saves the image everytime, overwriting the old one. Isn't this sort of pointless? Wouldn't it use a lot less resources if I just took away this code now since the image is already created and saved on my forum?

Forgive me but i'm new to this function and just used it for the first time. I'm not quite sure how it's intended to be used.

08-16-2012 06:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
RE: Benefits of imagecreate ?
Yes, I don't know why you even bothered with code in the first place.  Just filter the images yourself and upload them.

My Blog
08-16-2012 07:59 AM
Sama34 Offline
try to read the file first:

PHP Code:
if(file_exist($file))
{
read_file($file); // with the appropiate headers
exit;
}
//create the image

In my case I also check for the file date to update it (in my case it is a dynamic stats).

Support PM's will be ignored. Yipi
Plugins: Announcement Bars - Custom Reputation - Mark PM As Unread
(This post was last modified: 08-16-2012 08:05 AM by Sama34.)
08-16-2012 08:04 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
And why would you do that?

My Blog
08-16-2012 02:34 PM
mdb Offline