XThreads
Author Message
My Spiel
XThreads is one of my larger plugins which I have been working on for a while.  Originally planned to release it inline with MyBB 1.6, but who knows when that'll be out.  It perhaps doesn't include everything I wanted it to, but does have most of the things (plus I want to move onto other projects).

What does it do?
Take a look at RateU's forum for some nice ideas of what it can do.  I also have some more basic examples here of what can be done with XThreads.  I'm pretty sure there are many other applications of this plugin, but those examples just give you some simple ideas.

The basic idea is giving you the ability to define custom fields for your threads, and providing methods to give you a lot of flexibility with customising forums.

Warning: I'm not going to bother with "beta" labels and so on.  I've done some testing on this myself, but it's by no means extensive.  Use this at your own risk.

Installation Instructions: standard installation procedures apply - you can find them in the announcement here.
You may need to CHMOD the uploads/xthreads_ul/ folder to 0777 after uploading the files (probably won't though).

Upgrade Instructions: unless stated otherwise, the general procedure for upgrades is to simply upload the new files, then visit your AdminCP.  In there, you'll be presented with a notice to run the upgrade - just follow what it says from there on.

Usage Instructions: this is a complex plugin, and unfortunately, you're probably going to have to figure this out yourself, depending on what you want to achieve with this plugin.  HTML and CSS knowledge is strongly recommended; you should also be familiar with MyBB's template system.  Some demonstrations can be found here - hopefully these will give you a good idea of how things work.  I suggest looking at the thread descriptions example, as this is fairly easy to understand (IMO).  If you can understand how everything works, there, perhaps try out the gallery example.

Known conflicting plugins
- MyPlaza Turbo -
If you are using MyPlaza Turbo, note that the author decided to use a particularly odd method to implement certain functionality, practically destroying compatibility with any plugin which hooks into the forum add/edit routines.  I've included a patch to address this issue - you need to replace inc/myplaza/myplaza_admin_plugin.php with the following file (it's unlikely that this will be committed as the author has decided to discontinue development)

.php  myplaza_admin_plugin.php (Size: 56.27 KB / Downloads: 2297)

- PL9 Forum Icons -
Affects certain functionality.  See here for a solution.

- PHP in Templates, v1.4 or older -
Similar to PL9 Forum Icons - solution is just to update to the latest version.

- MyAdvertisements - (update: older versions only, later versions may not conflict)
Affects some thread functionality, see here for a solution.

- Group Post CSS -
See here http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthre...http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthread.php?tid=378&pid=59

All bug reports, suggestions, criticisms are appreciated (though I may not always implement suggestions) so please feel free to post them.
If you find this plugin useful, I would be grateful if you could give some token of appreciation for the work that has gone into this, and perhaps post some example usages you've come up with in the XThreads forum to help others get an idea of what can be achieve with this plugin (and for my own interest's sake Tongue).


Github: https://github.com/zingaburga/XThreads-MyBB-Plugin
Note: do NOT use the Github version, unless you know what you're doing
Changelogs: v1.10, v1.20, v1.21, v1.22, v1.23, v1.24, v1.25, v1.26, v1.27, v1.30, v1.31, v1.32, v1.337, v1.40, v1.41, v1.42, v1.43, v1.44, v1.45, v1.46, v1.47, v1.50, v1.51, v1.52, v1.53, v1.60, v1.61, v1.62, v1.63, v1.64, v1.65, v1.66, v1.67, v1.68
(This post was last modified: 12-25-2015 12:46 PM by ZiNgA BuRgA.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Download: xthreads-1.68.7z (114.53 KB)
Plugin Version: 1.68
Last Updated: 12-25-2015, 12:46 PM

Downloads: 8,327
MyBB Compatibility: 1.4.x, 1.6.x, 1.8.x
Plugin License: GPLv3
Uploader: ZiNgA BuRgA
leefish Offline
Hamster
*****
Posts: 1,009
Joined: Apr 2010
Post: #861
RE: XThreads
That 1.8.6 code is being reverted I think - lots of complaints on MyBB about it, causing heavy slowdown.


[Image: leelink.gif]
MYBB1.6 & XThreads
(This post was last modified: 10-21-2015 11:22 AM by leefish.)
10-21-2015 11:21 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #862
RE: XThreads
Good if it is reverted. Not only slowing down, but it prevents to have more than one same tables in the same MySQL server account if we check the existence of the table first, since it doesn't check the the TABLE_SCHEMA against the $config['database']['database'].

10-22-2015 01:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ashkir Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
Post: #863
RE: XThreads
Can I make a paid request to get something made for me using XThreads? I have a complex kind of form with a specific syntax output I want.
10-24-2015 05:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #864
RE: XThreads
How is the form and what the output should be?

10-24-2015 05:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ashkir Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
Post: #865
RE: XThreads
The form isn't as complex like, you don't need to do a dropdown and have other things appear. It's just the output. This is the exact form output that is desired for right now. I just don't know how this will go, the most complex part is the rating image generation. We have every possible rating image made. It's just nobody copies/pastes the form correctly and we want it made like that.

Site Name: {sitename} input for site name, also the title of the thread should be the site name
Site Link: {sitelink, force http://} input  for link
Software or Format: {software} dropdown list of options
Staff Account: Link input for link
Location of RPGD Icon:{location} input
Directory Category: {category} dropdown from list of options

Activity: {dropdown from list of options}
Rating: Broken into 3 dropdowns with options 0 1 2 or 3 with the output of:
[ img ]http://mysite.com/ratings/{sexrating}_{violencerating}_{languagerating}.jpg[/ img ]

Types of Characters/Creatures Allowed: {types}input
Time where the RP is set: {time} input

Plot/Story/Ad: {plot} textarea
Other Notes: {othernotes} optional field
Contact Details: {contact} optional field

Code:
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
[B]Site Name:[/B] [url={sitelink}]{sitename}[/url] input for site name, also the title of the thread should be the site name
[B]Site Link:[/B] {sitelink, force http://} input  for link
[B]Software or Format:[/B] {software} dropdown list of options
[B]Staff Account:[/B] [url={staffaccount}]Link[/url] input for link
[B]Location of RPGD Icon:[/B]{location} input
[B]Directory Category:[/B] {category} dropdown from list of options

[B]Activity:[/B] {dropdown from list of options}
[B]Rating:[/B] Broken into 3 dropdowns with options 0 1 2 or 3 with the output of:
[ img ]http://mysite.com/ratings/{sexrating}_{violencerating}_{languagerating}.jpg[/ img ]

[B]Types of Characters/Creatures Allowed:[/B] {types}input
[B]Time where the RP is set:[/B] {time} input

[B]Plot/Story/Ad:[/B] {plot} textarea
[B]Other Notes:[/B] {othernotes} optional field
[B]Contact Details:[/B] {contact} optional field

10-24-2015 06:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #866
RE: XThreads
(10-24-2015 06:04 AM)ashkir Wrote:  Site Name: {sitename} input for site name, also the title of the thread should be the site name

Sorry if I don't fully understand it. For example, the {sitename}, do you mean your user must put the word/placeholder {sitename} into the field or fill the field with name of a site (text/string, example: Google)?

10-24-2015 06:14 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ashkir Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
Post: #867
RE: XThreads
Exactly! Smile I meant that as what the value/input part of the form should be. So If I fill in Site Name with "Google" so {sitename} would mean Google.

The syntax would be directly like that form.
10-24-2015 06:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #868
RE: XThreads
(10-24-2015 06:04 AM)ashkir Wrote:  Site Name: {sitename} input for site name, also the title of the thread should be the site name
Site Link: {sitelink, force http://} input  for link

For the above fields, should be something like this, right?
http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/attachment.php?aid=143
The "Link Title" (site name) on the form actually the thread subject, so the title of the thread is the site name
and the output (example only):
http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/attachment.php?aid=232

Also for this:
(10-24-2015 06:04 AM)ashkir Wrote:  Rating: Broken into 3 dropdowns with options 0 1 2 or 3 with the output of:
[ img ]http://mysite.com/ratings/{sexrating}_{violencerating}_{languagerating}.jpg[/ img ]
So the user needs to "rate" 3 types of ratings (sex rating, violence rating and language rating) and each of them has 0 - 3 rating scale?

(This post was last modified: 10-24-2015 06:44 AM by RateU.)
10-24-2015 06:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ashkir Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 6
Joined: Jun 2014
Post: #869
RE: XThreads
Those are absolutely perfect for the examples.

Yes exactly for the ratings! So in the end if they rated everything for example if they rated the following:
Sex Rating: 2
Violence Rating: 3
Language Rating: 3

The output would be:
[ img ]http://mysite.com/ratings/2_3_3.jpg[/ img ]
10-24-2015 08:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #870
RE: XThreads
(10-24-2015 06:04 AM)ashkir Wrote:  Time where the RP is set: {time} input

What is the format for the time? Hours:Minutes?

10-25-2015 02:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply


Forum Jump: