Template Conditionals
Author Message
This is essentially a more restrictive version of my PHP in Templates plugin.  The restrictions aim to make this a "safe" plugin to use, that is, doesn't allow arbitrary PHP execution, but still gives the benefits of template conditionals.

You may notice that this still uses the "phptpl" name, and thus, is incompatible with the PHP in Templates plugin.  Both plugins are very similar though.  The differences between this and the other plugin are:
  • Admins cannot enter PHP code using <?php ?> tags
  • Conditionals in <if> and <elseif> tags are checked to ensure that they are "safe" (see below)
  • file_get_contents function has been removed from the allowable <func ...>...</func> shortcuts
  • There's a new <?=...?> tag to print out the result of a "safe" PHP expression; although this is a tag, only PHP expressions may exist inside (do not terminate expressions with a semicolon), so you cannot nest other tags inside this
    Example (prints 123654321):

    HTML Code
    123<?=substr("987654321", 3)?>

  • There's also a new <setvar name>...</setvar> tag which can set variables; for safety reasons, these are actually stored in a $tplvars array.  Examples:
    (just prints some text)

    HTML Code
    <setvar uselesstext>"some text"</setvar>
    {$tplvars['uselesstext']}

    (prints out the username of the user with UID of 2)

    HTML Code
    <setvar user2>get_user(2)</setvar>
    <func htmlspecialchars_uni>{$tplvars['user2']['username']}</func>


v1.0-1.3 of this plugin is based off v1.7 of PHP in Templates.
As of v1.8, PHP 5.3 or later is required.
This plugin can be used with the Admin Security plugin.

"Safe expressions"
This plugin implements "safe expression" checking; essentially, this does impose a bit of a performance hit, but, on the other hand, tries to ensure no "bad PHP" gets executed.
For more information on what I consider to be a "safe expression", see my blog post here.
For the purposes of this plugin, all valid PHP expressions are allowed, as long as they don't infringe on any of the following conditions:
  • no assignment/modification operators (=, +=, |=, ++ etc) allowed
  • no statements such as include, exit, eval etc are allowed
  • no special constants such as PHP_OS, PHP_LIBDIR etc are allowed
  • backtick (`) operator not allowed
  • heredoc type strings not allowed (takes too much effort to handle) - use double quoted strings instead
  • double quoted strings may not contain the "{" character (takes too much effort to handle) - use string concatenation instead
  • array and object typecasting not allowed
  • no variable functions or method calls allowed
  • single line comments (//, #) not allowed
  • only some functions are allowed - see inc/plugins/phptpl_allowed_funcs.txt for a list of allowed functions
(This post was last modified: 06-26-2023 10:42 PM by ZiNgA BuRgA.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Download: tplcond-1.9.7z (6.35 KB)
Plugin Version: 1.9
Last Updated: 06-26-2023, 10:42 PM

Downloads: 5,263
MyBB Compatibility: 1.2.x, 1.4.x, 1.6.x, 1.8.x
Plugin License: GPLv3
Uploader: ZiNgA BuRgA
nelliza111 Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2012
Post: #21
RE: Template Conditionals
(04-26-2012 12:04 PM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote:  Using the exact code above for that template, it seems to work perfect for me...

Thank you for your time! Works for me as well now too. Don't know what was wrong actually.

NZ
04-26-2012 09:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,357
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #22
RE: Template Conditionals
Update to v1.6:
- <setvar> will now work as expected inside conditionals

My Blog
06-18-2012 05:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #23
RE: Template Conditionals
Now the <setvar> is more dynamic. It is very very similar to php now.
Thank you very much for the update, Yumi.

If it is possible, will XThreads uses this <setvar> "version", Yumi?

06-19-2012 07:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,357
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #24
RE: Template Conditionals
Next version should have it.

My Blog
06-19-2012 06:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #25
RE: Template Conditionals
Thanks, Yumi.

06-20-2012 05:13 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #26
RE: Template Conditionals
I think you should remove this part from the first post, Yumi?
(09-15-2010 02:29 PM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote:  Note that <setvar> won't "work" conditionally inside <if>s, that is, <setvar> will always set a value regardless of it being placed anywhere within an <if>, even if the condition of the <if> evaluates to false.  Example

HTML Code
<if false then>
<setvar test>'a test'</setvar>
</if>
{$tplvars['test']}

- the above will always display "a test".


06-25-2012 06:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,357
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #27
RE: Template Conditionals
I thought I had changed that :/
Thanks for pointing out though.

My Blog
06-25-2012 09:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Sama34 Offline
Senior Member
****
Posts: 490
Joined: May 2011
Post: #28
RE: Template Conditionals
Regarding performance, would it be better to use, for example, some code in the showthread template instead of the postbit/postbit_classic template?

Support PM's will be ignored. Yipi
Plugins: Announcement Bars - Custom Reputation - Mark PM As Unread
08-25-2012 04:09 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,357
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #29
RE: Template Conditionals
Possibly, because it's only evaluated once there.
Too vague otherwise.

My Blog
08-25-2012 11:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Victor Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2012
Post: #30
RE: Template Conditionals
<func str_replace>"\n", ', ', $post[fid6]</func>

Why it isn't working? Frown
09-03-2012 04:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply


Forum Jump: