Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
1master1 Offline
Member
***
Posts: 232
Joined: Oct 2010
Post: #1
Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
I'm here to request a new feature for mybb. This feature is default in most of the other forum softwares like ipb, vb....

The picture shows what i'm expecting Smile

   

A quick menu for the username in thread view, postbit
10-13-2010 07:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #2
RE: Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
Maybe something like this:

HTML Code
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
<strong><span class="largetext"><a href="{$post['profilelink_plain']}" id="profile_{$post['pid']}">{$post['username_formatted']}</a></span></strong> {$post['onlinestatus']}<br />
<div id="profile_{$post['pid']}_popup" class="popup_menu" style="display: none;">
	<div class="popup_item_container">
		Links 1
	</div>
	<div class="popup_item_container">
		Links 2
	</div>
</div>

<script type="text/javascript">
// <!--
	if(use_xmlhttprequest == "1")
	{
		new PopupMenu("profile_{$post['pid']}");
	}
// -->
</script>


10-13-2010 07:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
1master1 Offline
Member
***
Posts: 232
Joined: Oct 2010
Post: #3
RE: Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
tried it on a mybb copy at localhost, but it didnt worked.
10-13-2010 08:13 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,357
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #4
RE: Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
I probably should modify announcements a bit, but from an announcement in another forum:
Quote:Please explain the issue clearly with all relevant details.  "It doesn't work" is about as useful as saying "I'm an idiot".

My Blog
10-13-2010 10:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
1master1 Offline
Member
***
Posts: 232
Joined: Oct 2010
Post: #5
RE: Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
Its not the issue that need to be explained clearly. I'm requesting a new feature for mybb which is already available in other forum softwares. As i mentioned, you can get clear view of what i want by seeing the attachment with text written on it. I think everyone knows where the author's name is in a thread view which is postbit.

RateU got a quick understanding and he gave a relevant code. I had installed it and tried but didnt show anything. Frown

May be it needs some more modifications to show in ajax mode.
10-13-2010 08:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,357
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #6
RE: Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
(10-13-2010 08:06 PM)1master1 Wrote:  RateU got a quick understanding and he gave a relevant code. I had installed it and tried but didnt show anything. Frown
You said that it "didn't work".  I just asked you to explain what "didn't work" means.  What did you try to do exactly?  What was the result?  Why do you think it doesn't work for you?

My Blog
10-13-2010 09:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
leefish Offline
Hamster
*****
Posts: 1,009
Joined: Apr 2010
Post: #7
RE: Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
Here is an alternative code - I use this in my forum. Its not as elegant as RateU's solution but it does work. You put it at the top of your header_welcomeblock_member template

Code:
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
<tr>
<td><div class="mem_block">
<strong><a href="#" id="userlinks_{$memprofile['uid']}"><img src="{$mybb->user['avatar']}" class="miniav" "width="50" height="50" alt=" "/></a></span></strong>				
                                   <div id="userlinks_{$memprofile['uid']}_popup" class="popup_menu" style="display: none;" 
					<span class="smalltext"></span>
					
					<div class="popup_item_container">
						<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/member.php?action=profile" class="popup_item">
							<span class="smalltext">My Profile</span></a>
					</div>

					<div class="popup_item_container">
						<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/search.php?action=getnew" class="popup_item">
							<span class="smalltext">New Posts</span></a>
					</div>

					<div class="popup_item_container">
						<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/search.php?action=getdaily" class="popup_item">
							<span class="smalltext">Today's Posts</span></a>
					</div>


					<div class="popup_item_container">
						<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/private.php" class="popup_item">
							<span class="smalltext">Messages</span></a>
					</div>

					<div class="popup_item_container">
						<a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/calendar.php" class="popup_item">
							<span class="smalltext">Calendar</span></a>
					</div>

        
				</div>
		<script type="text/javascript">

		<!--

		new PopupMenu("userlinks_{$memprofile['uid']}");

		// -->

		</script>
				</div><td>



[Image: leelink.gif]
MYBB1.6 & XThreads
10-13-2010 10:36 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #8
RE: Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
(10-13-2010 08:06 PM)1master1 Wrote:  I had installed it and tried but didnt show anything. Frown

May be it needs some more modifications to show in ajax mode.

If you mean by "didn't show anything" is, there is no dropdown menu displayed when you click the username, I'm not quite sure why it doesn't work for you.

You should get the similar layout like this - click the username:
http://mynie.6te.net/demo/showthread.php?tid=119

Some simple modification for it - click the username (User 1) in the reply post:
http://mynie.6te.net/demo/showthread.php?tid=95

And simple modification in header (if you want it in header too?):
   
I can't provide a live demo for this because it is in welcome block member. The "box" will be displayed when we click the "Member Tools" link.

(This post was last modified: 10-14-2010 04:20 AM by RateU.)
10-14-2010 04:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
1master1 Offline
Member
***
Posts: 232
Joined: Oct 2010
Post: #9
RE: Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
RateU, i had added the <script type > code to top of the post bit and replaced this code

<strong><span class="largetext">{$post['profilelink']}</span></strong> {$post['onlinestatus']}<br />

with yours.

I'm using classic post bit style and i made it in postbit_classic
(This post was last modified: 10-14-2010 04:50 AM by 1master1.)
10-14-2010 04:49 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #10
RE: Quick access dropdown menu for the user name
You need to put the javascript after the id "defined". Try to put it at the end of your postbit_classic template.

10-14-2010 04:55 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

 Standard Tools
Forum Jump: