Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 Thread Image
Skatman Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Post: #31
RE: Thread Image
Hello, I was wondering if I could apply a default image if no image is available.
Is it possible?
05-30-2011 09:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,349
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #32
RE: Thread Image
Put the image tags in the Blank Replacement Value.

05-31-2011 02:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Skatman Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Post: #33
RE: Thread Image
I did this and it works fine, I just realised that this feature already existed.
Thanks for solving my problem again.
05-31-2011 07:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Joey_Pham Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2010
Post: #34
RE: Thread Image
hi, I would like to ask that is there anyway to make the very first image in the post to be the thumbnail, even though that image is from another host, not the attached one?
08-13-2011 03:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,340
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #35
RE: Thread Image
You can't really make a thumbnail of a remote file (unless they actually provide one) - it needs to actually be retrieved to your server before it can be processed.

My Blog
08-13-2011 05:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Joey_Pham Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 2010
Post: #36
RE: Thread Image
hmmm, okay, thank you Smile
08-19-2011 02:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Skatman Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Post: #37
RE: Thread Image
(08-13-2011 03:19 PM)Joey_Pham Wrote:  hi, I would like to ask that is there anyway to make the very first image in the post to be the thumbnail, even though that image is from another host, not the attached one?
I was wondering the same thing..

I can't find a way to achieve this.
I really need to find a plugin or modify 'Thread Image' itself.
Any suggestions?
(This post was last modified: 09-14-2011 05:44 AM by Skatman.)
09-14-2011 05:43 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,340
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #38
RE: Thread Image
You can use a text box field instead of a file field if you strictly must pull images from an external source.  However, thumbnails won't work, because, as explained above, it's impossible to do anything with an image unless you have a copy of it.

The file field has the ability to pull stuff from URLs anyway, which does allow thumbnail generation, so I really don't see the problem here.

My Blog
09-14-2011 08:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Skatman Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Post: #39
RE: Thread Image
(09-14-2011 08:40 AM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote:  You can use a text box field instead of a file field if you strictly must pull images from an external source.  However, thumbnails won't work, because, as explained above, it's impossible to do anything with an image unless you have a copy of it.

The file field has the ability to pull stuff from URLs anyway, which does allow thumbnail generation, so I really don't see the problem here.

The problem is that many MANY people doesn't even put thread image.
I want to make automatically thumbnail the first available image in the thread and in the image's field I want to appear resized, something like fit to screen (width="x" height="x" can help in this) but not uploaded in the server (the image's URL will link in the host that's uploaded and in the right size).
09-14-2011 11:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,340
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #40
RE: Thread Image
(09-14-2011 11:07 PM)Skatman Wrote:  The problem is that many MANY people doesn't even put thread image.
Then make it a required field.

(09-14-2011 11:07 PM)Skatman Wrote:  I want to make automatically thumbnail the first available image in the thread
You'd need a special plugin to do anything like that from within a post message.

(09-14-2011 11:07 PM)Skatman Wrote:  but not uploaded in the server (the image's URL will link in the host that's uploaded and in the right size).
Why don't you want it uploaded to your own server?
Do you really lack the space/bandwidth to store some very small xxxKB images?

(09-14-2011 11:07 PM)Skatman Wrote:  and in the image's field I want to appear resized, something like fit to screen (width="x" height="x" can help in this)
You mean the user manually specifies a width and height for the image?
Otherwise, where do the dimensions come from?
If it's never stored on the server, where do you get the thumbnail from?

My Blog
09-15-2011 08:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

 Standard Tools
Forum Jump: