Thread Rating:
  • 3 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 Thread Image
Skatman Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Post: #41
RE: Thread Image
(09-15-2011 08:44 AM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote:  Then make it a required field.
Here we got a problem... It's not only that they doesn't put 1 img, some of them don't know how to resize the pic.

(09-15-2011 08:44 AM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote:  Why don't you want it uploaded to your own server?
Do you really lack the space/bandwidth to store some very small xxxKB images?
As for the bandwith, yeah I lack of it.
Many people -> everyday.

(09-15-2011 08:44 AM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote:  You mean the user manually specifies a width and height for the image?
Otherwise, where do the dimensions come from?
If it's never stored on the server, where do you get the thumbnail from?
No.. I can say "resized" in order to fit in the width & height I set (Just like the way that normal images resized in order to fit the screen).
09-15-2011 07:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,340
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #42
RE: Thread Image
(09-15-2011 07:50 PM)Skatman Wrote:  No.. I can say "resized" in order to fit in the width & height I set (Just like the way that normal images resized in order to fit the screen).
If you mean a client side resize, you're probably stuck with a Javascript solution (which has a number of issues).
It's impossible to grab the dimensions of an image you don't have, in other words, it would need to be fetched to the server for a width/height to be set anyway (unless you don't care about aspect ratio, in which case, things are simple, just add your width="x" height="x" properties to the <img> tag).
With Javascript, you could possibly have the big image loaded and dynamically scale once the image is loaded.  If this is what you want, then find a Javascript script which does this sort of scaling (I suspect that they should exist) and stick it on your page.  Do note the downsides of this though:
  • Requires Javascript to be enabled on the client
  • Loading is somewhat slower client side because it has to load the full image (as opposed to thumbnails)
  • The images won't scale until they're fully loaded - combined with above, you could get a very ugly page whilst everything is loading (or user cancels loading part way through)
  • Earlier versions of Firefox seem to use a nearest neighbor scaler for images, which looks really yuck
  • It's just an ugly cludge thing to do... Erf

My Blog
(This post was last modified: 09-15-2011 10:34 PM by ZiNgA BuRgA.)
09-15-2011 10:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,349
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #43
RE: Thread Image
(09-14-2011 11:07 PM)Skatman Wrote:  The problem is that many MANY people doesn't even put thread image.

Maybe put a default image in the Blank Replacement Value?

09-17-2011 02:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Skatman Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Post: #44
RE: Thread Image
(09-17-2011 02:59 AM)RateU Wrote:  
(09-14-2011 11:07 PM)Skatman Wrote:  The problem is that many MANY people doesn't even put thread image.

Maybe put a default image in the Blank Replacement Value?

Ofc, that was the first thing I did long time ago...
I think this plugin (I mean the feature I want) already exists in IPB, I'll search if it's true & I'll tell you. Maybe it can help you solving this thing.
09-20-2011 09:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Skatman Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2011
Post: #45
RE: Thread Image
Finally, found exactly what I want in a vb mod.
Here's the official page -> Click Me!

Pay attention to the 3rd screenshot, the 2nd option shows that it takes automatically the first image, the attachment or both.

Also I found a demo before some days, and it worked great. Although I can't find it right now 'cauz I don't remember the page. I'll try to find demo again.

(Full code Check the XML here -> Click Me!

I hope this helps guys.
Just to remind you, I want to automatically take the first available image in the thread. The other features this mod has are not required.

Thanks,
Hope you find out a way to do it.
10-08-2011 08:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,349
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #46
RE: Thread Image
(10-08-2011 08:04 PM)Skatman Wrote:  Just to remind you, I want to automatically take the first available image in the thread.

Unfortunately, I think you need a special plugin for that.

10-09-2011 03:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Glas Offline
Member
***
Posts: 106
Joined: Jul 2010
Post: #47
RE: Thread Image
question: (you guys gonna hate me)

but i've chmodded upload to 777
{$GLOBALS['threadfields']['timg']['value']} works fine
but thumbnails are not being viewed
and when i go to regenerate it says
"There are no thumbnails to rebuild."

Demo:
http://www.beatdj.net/MyIB/forum-4.html
10-09-2011 09:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,340
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #48
RE: Thread Image
What's the value for thumbnail generation for the thread field?

My Blog
10-09-2011 01:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Glas Offline
Member
***
Posts: 106
Joined: Jul 2010
Post: #49
RE: Thread Image

Code:
<a href="{URL}" target="_blank"><img src="{URL}/thumb125x125" alt="{FILENAME}" title="Click to view this thread image in full size - {$GLOBALS['threadfields']['timg']['dims']['w']} x {$GLOBALS['threadfields']['timg']['dims']['h']}" style="margin: 3px; float: left;" /></a>

tried 75x75 too and nothing

(This post was last modified: 10-09-2011 02:28 PM by Glas.)
10-09-2011 02:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,340
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #50
RE: Thread Image
No, under Custom Thread Fields -> [your thread field] -> Image Thumbnail Generation

My Blog
10-09-2011 08:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply

« Next Oldest | Next Newest »

 Standard Tools
Forum Jump: