(09-15-2011 08:44 AM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote: [ -> ]Then make it a required field.
Here we got a problem... It's not only that they doesn't put 1 img, some of them don't know how to resize the pic.
(09-15-2011 08:44 AM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote: [ -> ]Why don't you want it uploaded to your own server?
Do you really lack the space/bandwidth to store some very small xxxKB images?
As for the bandwith, yeah I lack of it.
Many people -> everyday.
(09-15-2011 08:44 AM)ZiNgA BuRgA Wrote: [ -> ]You mean the user manually specifies a width and height for the image?
Otherwise, where do the dimensions come from?
If it's never stored on the server, where do you get the thumbnail from?
No.. I can say "resized" in order to fit in the width & height I set (Just like the way that normal images resized in order to fit the screen).
(09-15-2011 07:50 PM)Skatman Wrote: [ -> ]No.. I can say "resized" in order to fit in the width & height I set (Just like the way that normal images resized in order to fit the screen).
If you mean a client side resize, you're probably stuck with a Javascript solution (which has a number of issues).
It's impossible to grab the dimensions of an image you don't have, in other words, it would need to be fetched to the server for a width/height to be set anyway (unless you don't care about aspect ratio, in which case, things are simple, just add your width="x" height="x" properties to the <img> tag).
With Javascript, you could possibly have the big image loaded and dynamically scale once the image is loaded. If this is what you want, then find a Javascript script which does this sort of scaling (I suspect that they should exist) and stick it on your page. Do note the downsides of this though:
- Requires Javascript to be enabled on the client
- Loading is somewhat slower client side because it has to load the full image (as opposed to thumbnails)
- The images won't scale until they're fully loaded - combined with above, you could get a very ugly page whilst everything is loading (or user cancels loading part way through)
- Earlier versions of Firefox seem to use a nearest neighbor scaler for images, which looks really yuck
- It's just an ugly cludge thing to do...
(09-14-2011 11:07 PM)Skatman Wrote: [ -> ]The problem is that many MANY people doesn't even put thread image.
Maybe put a default image in the Blank Replacement Value?
(09-17-2011 02:59 AM)RateU Wrote: [ -> ] (09-14-2011 11:07 PM)Skatman Wrote: [ -> ]The problem is that many MANY people doesn't even put thread image.
Maybe put a default image in the Blank Replacement Value?
Ofc, that was the first thing I did long time ago...
I think this plugin (I mean the feature I want) already exists in IPB, I'll search if it's true & I'll tell you. Maybe it can help you solving this thing.
Finally, found exactly what I want in a vb mod.
Here's the official page ->
Click Me!
Pay attention to the 3rd screenshot, the 2nd option shows that it takes automatically the first image, the attachment or both.
Also I found a demo before some days, and it worked great. Although I can't find it right now 'cauz I don't remember the page. I'll try to find demo again.
(Full code Check the XML here ->
Click Me!
I hope this helps guys.
Just to remind you, I want to automatically take the first available image in the thread. The other features this mod has are not required.
Thanks,
Hope you find out a way to do it.
(10-08-2011 08:04 PM)Skatman Wrote: [ -> ]Just to remind you, I want to automatically take the first available image in the thread.
Unfortunately, I think you need a special plugin for that.
question: (you guys gonna hate me)
but i've chmodded upload to 777
{$GLOBALS['threadfields']['timg']['value']} works fine
but thumbnails are not being viewed
and when i go to regenerate it says
"There are no thumbnails to rebuild."
Demo:
http://www.beatdj.net/MyIB/forum-4.html
What's the value for thumbnail generation for the thread field?
Code:
<a href="{URL}" target="_blank"><img src="{URL}/thumb125x125" alt="{FILENAME}" title="Click to view this thread image in full size - {$GLOBALS['threadfields']['timg']['dims']['w']} x {$GLOBALS['threadfields']['timg']['dims']['h']}" style="margin: 3px; float: left;" /></a>
|
tried 75x75 too and nothing
No, under Custom Thread Fields -> [your thread field] -> Image Thumbnail Generation