XThreads
Author Message
My Spiel
XThreads is one of my larger plugins which I have been working on for a while.  Originally planned to release it inline with MyBB 1.6, but who knows when that'll be out.  It perhaps doesn't include everything I wanted it to, but does have most of the things (plus I want to move onto other projects).

What does it do?
Take a look at RateU's forum for some nice ideas of what it can do.  I also have some more basic examples here of what can be done with XThreads.  I'm pretty sure there are many other applications of this plugin, but those examples just give you some simple ideas.

The basic idea is giving you the ability to define custom fields for your threads, and providing methods to give you a lot of flexibility with customising forums.

Warning: I'm not going to bother with "beta" labels and so on.  I've done some testing on this myself, but it's by no means extensive.  Use this at your own risk.

Installation Instructions: standard installation procedures apply - you can find them in the announcement here.
You may need to CHMOD the uploads/xthreads_ul/ folder to 0777 after uploading the files (probably won't though).

Upgrade Instructions: unless stated otherwise, the general procedure for upgrades is to simply upload the new files, then visit your AdminCP.  In there, you'll be presented with a notice to run the upgrade - just follow what it says from there on.

Usage Instructions: this is a complex plugin, and unfortunately, you're probably going to have to figure this out yourself, depending on what you want to achieve with this plugin.  HTML and CSS knowledge is strongly recommended; you should also be familiar with MyBB's template system.  Some demonstrations can be found here - hopefully these will give you a good idea of how things work.  I suggest looking at the thread descriptions example, as this is fairly easy to understand (IMO).  If you can understand how everything works, there, perhaps try out the gallery example.

Known conflicting plugins
- MyPlaza Turbo -
If you are using MyPlaza Turbo, note that the author decided to use a particularly odd method to implement certain functionality, practically destroying compatibility with any plugin which hooks into the forum add/edit routines.  I've included a patch to address this issue - you need to replace inc/myplaza/myplaza_admin_plugin.php with the following file (it's unlikely that this will be committed as the author has decided to discontinue development)

.php  myplaza_admin_plugin.php (Size: 56.27 KB / Downloads: 2297)

- PL9 Forum Icons -
Affects certain functionality.  See here for a solution.

- PHP in Templates, v1.4 or older -
Similar to PL9 Forum Icons - solution is just to update to the latest version.

- MyAdvertisements - (update: older versions only, later versions may not conflict)
Affects some thread functionality, see here for a solution.

- Group Post CSS -
See here http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthre...http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthread.php?tid=378&pid=59

All bug reports, suggestions, criticisms are appreciated (though I may not always implement suggestions) so please feel free to post them.
If you find this plugin useful, I would be grateful if you could give some token of appreciation for the work that has gone into this, and perhaps post some example usages you've come up with in the XThreads forum to help others get an idea of what can be achieve with this plugin (and for my own interest's sake Tongue).


Github: https://github.com/zingaburga/XThreads-MyBB-Plugin
Note: do NOT use the Github version, unless you know what you're doing
Changelogs: v1.10, v1.20, v1.21, v1.22, v1.23, v1.24, v1.25, v1.26, v1.27, v1.30, v1.31, v1.32, v1.337, v1.40, v1.41, v1.42, v1.43, v1.44, v1.45, v1.46, v1.47, v1.50, v1.51, v1.52, v1.53, v1.60, v1.61, v1.62, v1.63, v1.64, v1.65, v1.66, v1.67, v1.68
(This post was last modified: 12-25-2015 12:46 PM by ZiNgA BuRgA.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Download: xthreads-1.68.7z (114.53 KB)
Plugin Version: 1.68
Last Updated: 12-25-2015, 12:46 PM

Downloads: 8,327
MyBB Compatibility: 1.4.x, 1.6.x, 1.8.x
Plugin License: GPLv3
Uploader: ZiNgA BuRgA
kitten Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2011
Post: #271
RE: XThreads
Hi LeeFish
Sure, i specified the forum and also i`m not using anything fancy, in fact i use the default xthreads options without any code line modification
02-25-2011 11:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
leefish Offline
Hamster
*****
Posts: 1,009
Joined: Apr 2010
Post: #272
RE: XThreads
Thats very odd - perhaps try one of the simpler setups that RateU has made and see if that works?


[Image: leelink.gif]
MYBB1.6 & XThreads
02-26-2011 12:48 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kitten Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2011
Post: #273
RE: XThreads
thanks for reply lee. I tested now the Pre Formatted Thread from here http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthread.php?tid=289 step by step and also i deactivate the Apart theme because of those modification specifed by rateu were for default template. The PHP Version is : 5.2.17
Now i saw i use MyBB version 1.6.2
(This post was last modified: 02-26-2011 02:30 AM by kitten.)
02-26-2011 01:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #274
RE: XThreads
May I know your custom thread fields settings?

02-26-2011 02:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kitten Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2011
Post: #275
RE: XThreads
(02-26-2011 02:25 AM)RateU Wrote:  May I know your custom thread fields settings?

hi rateu
I use only default setings, for example:
Title: address
Key: address
Applicable Forums : all forums selected
Input Field Type : texbox
Editable by / Required Field? : Admins
Display Parsing : plain text
Display Order: 1
Please take a look to my test board Test , fi you wanna take a look closely i can give you my admin pass.
PS: the mybb version i use it is 1.6.2 , it`s kinda weird, i read and re-read almost everything on this board, for more than 10 hours and i guess it could be a trouble with the new version maybe ?! Aww.
(This post was last modified: 02-26-2011 02:37 AM by kitten.)
02-26-2011 02:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #276
RE: XThreads
Based on the above custom thread fields, try to set the Hide Input Field settings to Yes.
Then put {$tfinputrow['address']} variable in your newthread template, or your template_prefix_newthread template if you use template prefix. You can put it after the {$posticons} variable.

02-26-2011 02:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kitten Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2011
Post: #277
RE: XThreads
I`m not using template prefix, i add the line into newthread template

Code:
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
<html>
<head>
<title>{$lang->newthread_in}</title>
{$headerinclude}
<script type="text/javascript" src="jscripts/post.js?ver=1400"></script>
</head>
<body>
{$header}
{$preview}
{$thread_errors}
{$attacherror}
<form action="newthread.php?fid={$fid}&amp;processed=1" method="post" enctype="multipart/form-data" name="input">
<input type="hidden" name="my_post_key" value="{$mybb->post_code}" />
<table border="0" cellspacing="{$theme['borderwidth']}" cellpadding="{$theme['tablespace']}" class="tborder">
<tr>
<td class="thead" colspan="2"><strong>{$lang->post_new_thread}</strong></td>
</tr>
{$loginbox}
<tr>
<td class="trow2" width="20%"><strong>{$lang->thread_subject}</strong></td>
<td class="trow2">{$prefixselect}<input type="text" class="textbox" name="subject" size="40" maxlength="85" value="{$subject}" tabindex="1" /></td>
</tr>
{$extra_threadfields}{$posticons} {$tfinputrow['address']}
<tr>
<td class="trow2" valign="top"><strong>{$lang->your_message}</strong>{$smilieinserter}</td>
<td class="trow2">
<textarea name="message" id="message" rows="20" cols="70" tabindex="2">{$message}</textarea>
{$codebuttons}
{$multiquote_external}
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="trow1" valign="top"><strong>{$lang->post_options}</strong></td>
<td class="trow1"><span class="smalltext">
<label><input type="checkbox" class="checkbox" name="postoptions[signature]" value="1" tabindex="7"{$postoptionschecked['signature']} /> {$lang->options_sig}</label>
{$disablesmilies}</span></td>
</tr>
{$modoptions}
{$subscriptionmethod}
{$pollbox}
{$captcha}
</table>
{$attachbox}
<br />
<div style="text-align:center"><input type="submit" class="button" name="submit" value="{$lang->post_thread}" tabindex="4" accesskey="s" />  <input type="submit" class="button" name="previewpost" value="{$lang->preview_post}" tabindex="5" />{$savedraftbutton}</div>
<input type="hidden" name="action" value="do_newthread" />
<input type="hidden" name="posthash" value="{$posthash}" />
<input type="hidden" name="attachmentaid" value="" />
<input type="hidden" name="attachmentact" value="" />
<input type="hidden" name="quoted_ids" value="{$quoted_ids}" />
<input type="hidden" name="tid" value="{$tid}" />
{$editdraftpid}
</form>
{$forumrules}
{$footer}
</body>
</html>


And still no custom field appeared



Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
   
(This post was last modified: 02-26-2011 03:02 AM by kitten.)
02-26-2011 03:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #278
RE: XThreads
What I meant is in newthread. Does the textbox appear in the newthread template?

02-26-2011 03:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kitten Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2011
Post: #279
RE: XThreads
(02-26-2011 03:07 AM)RateU Wrote:  What I meant is in newthread. Does the textbox appear in the newthread template?

Thanks for reply.  Yes , i modified the newreply file from New Reply Templates. When i open a new thread the custom fields are visible, they are requiered as i set them up , but they don`t show up at all after the post it`s published.
02-26-2011 03:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #280
RE: XThreads
Does it appear in newthread when you set the Hide Input Field settings to No? Remove the {$tfinputrow['address']} variable from your newthread template.

Just to make sure that I didn't misunderstand this:
(02-25-2011 10:09 PM)kitten Wrote:  i had added two custom fields and they dont appear at all when i create a new threads.

(This post was last modified: 02-26-2011 03:38 AM by RateU.)
02-26-2011 03:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply


Forum Jump: