XThreads
Author Message
My Spiel
XThreads is one of my larger plugins which I have been working on for a while.  Originally planned to release it inline with MyBB 1.6, but who knows when that'll be out.  It perhaps doesn't include everything I wanted it to, but does have most of the things (plus I want to move onto other projects).

What does it do?
Take a look at RateU's forum for some nice ideas of what it can do.  I also have some more basic examples here of what can be done with XThreads.  I'm pretty sure there are many other applications of this plugin, but those examples just give you some simple ideas.

The basic idea is giving you the ability to define custom fields for your threads, and providing methods to give you a lot of flexibility with customising forums.

Warning: I'm not going to bother with "beta" labels and so on.  I've done some testing on this myself, but it's by no means extensive.  Use this at your own risk.

Installation Instructions: standard installation procedures apply - you can find them in the announcement here.
You may need to CHMOD the uploads/xthreads_ul/ folder to 0777 after uploading the files (probably won't though).

Upgrade Instructions: unless stated otherwise, the general procedure for upgrades is to simply upload the new files, then visit your AdminCP.  In there, you'll be presented with a notice to run the upgrade - just follow what it says from there on.

Usage Instructions: this is a complex plugin, and unfortunately, you're probably going to have to figure this out yourself, depending on what you want to achieve with this plugin.  HTML and CSS knowledge is strongly recommended; you should also be familiar with MyBB's template system.  Some demonstrations can be found here - hopefully these will give you a good idea of how things work.  I suggest looking at the thread descriptions example, as this is fairly easy to understand (IMO).  If you can understand how everything works, there, perhaps try out the gallery example.

Known conflicting plugins
- MyPlaza Turbo -
If you are using MyPlaza Turbo, note that the author decided to use a particularly odd method to implement certain functionality, practically destroying compatibility with any plugin which hooks into the forum add/edit routines.  I've included a patch to address this issue - you need to replace inc/myplaza/myplaza_admin_plugin.php with the following file (it's unlikely that this will be committed as the author has decided to discontinue development)

.php  myplaza_admin_plugin.php (Size: 56.27 KB / Downloads: 2309)

- PL9 Forum Icons -
Affects certain functionality.  See here for a solution.

- PHP in Templates, v1.4 or older -
Similar to PL9 Forum Icons - solution is just to update to the latest version.

- MyAdvertisements - (update: older versions only, later versions may not conflict)
Affects some thread functionality, see here for a solution.

- Group Post CSS -
See here http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthre...http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthread.php?tid=378&pid=59

All bug reports, suggestions, criticisms are appreciated (though I may not always implement suggestions) so please feel free to post them.
If you find this plugin useful, I would be grateful if you could give some token of appreciation for the work that has gone into this, and perhaps post some example usages you've come up with in the XThreads forum to help others get an idea of what can be achieve with this plugin (and for my own interest's sake Tongue).


Github: https://github.com/zingaburga/XThreads-MyBB-Plugin
Note: do NOT use the Github version, unless you know what you're doing
Changelogs: v1.10, v1.20, v1.21, v1.22, v1.23, v1.24, v1.25, v1.26, v1.27, v1.30, v1.31, v1.32, v1.337, v1.40, v1.41, v1.42, v1.43, v1.44, v1.45, v1.46, v1.47, v1.50, v1.51, v1.52, v1.53, v1.60, v1.61, v1.62, v1.63, v1.64, v1.65, v1.66, v1.67, v1.68
(This post was last modified: 12-25-2015 12:46 PM by ZiNgA BuRgA.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Download: xthreads-1.68.7z (114.53 KB)
Plugin Version: 1.68
Last Updated: 12-25-2015, 12:46 PM

Downloads: 8,337
MyBB Compatibility: 1.4.x, 1.6.x, 1.8.x
Plugin License: GPLv3
Uploader: ZiNgA BuRgA
Sama34 Offline
Senior Member
****
Posts: 490
Joined: May 2011
Post: #671
RE: XThreads
Uh no, I mean, my "News" forum has four kind of moderators (Administrators, Global moderators, Moderators, and Journalists). If I select "Moderators" in the "Editable by / Required Field?" then any moderator can use the tool, but that I don't want.

Is there any way to pick custom groups (Editable by / Required Field? -> Custom -> Editable by Usergroups) but also to limit it to moderators (i.e: a "Needs to be a moderator" kind of setting).

Editable by / Required Field? -> Custom
Editable by Usergroups - > Journalists|Administrators
Needs to be a moderator -> Yes

Support PM's will be ignored. Yipi
Plugins: Announcement Bars - Custom Reputation - Mark PM As Unread
01-10-2013 04:45 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,357
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #672
RE: XThreads
Unfortunately it doesn't have such tight control.  You may be able to do something with secondary usergroups (ie make sectional moderators Journalists).

My Blog
01-11-2013 09:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Sama34 Offline
Senior Member
****
Posts: 490
Joined: May 2011
Post: #673
RE: XThreads
Will need to try, thanks.

Support PM's will be ignored. Yipi
Plugins: Announcement Bars - Custom Reputation - Mark PM As Unread
01-11-2013 03:27 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Sama34 Offline
Senior Member
****
Posts: 490
Joined: May 2011
Post: #674
RE: XThreads
I want to be able to use:

Code:
{$GLOBALS['object']->method($arg)}


Or:

Code:
<?=($GLOBALS['object']->method($arg))?>


In the display format input box, but I can't. I don't want to create multiple independent functions to fallback to the object methods. Is there anyway to accomplish this?


Support PM's will be ignored. Yipi
Plugins: Announcement Bars - Custom Reputation - Mark PM As Unread
01-23-2013 05:10 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,357
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #675
RE: XThreads
Either have PHP in Templates installed, or enable all PHP by editing the option in cache/xthreads.php

Alternatively, you can try adding it to inc/xthreads/phptpl_allowed_funcs.txt although you may wish to take a bit of care with that.
For $obj->my_method, add the line

Code:
->my_method


My Blog
01-24-2013 09:31 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Sama34 Offline
Senior Member
****
Posts: 490
Joined: May 2011
Post: #676
RE: XThreads
I really want to avoid the use of (full?) PHP in templates and anywhere and that solutions seems to require me adding new lines for every method.

So I added just one function to the allowed list file and now I can use the following:

Code:
<?=function('method' [, $arg [, $arg [, ...]]])?>


Ugly, but works. Thanks nonetheless!


Support PM's will be ignored. Yipi
Plugins: Announcement Bars - Custom Reputation - Mark PM As Unread
(This post was last modified: 01-24-2013 12:49 PM by Sama34.)
01-24-2013 12:49 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Seabody Offline
Member
***
Posts: 54
Joined: Aug 2012
Post: #677
RE: XThreads
Is it possible to filter where a thread field does not start with whatever?

I tried filtertf_key!=value, key_value, key-value - pretty much anything listed in the filtering mode setting that looked like it would work.
01-29-2013 08:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,357
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #678
RE: XThreads
Unfortunately no.

My Blog
01-30-2013 09:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
brad-t Offline
Member
***
Posts: 120
Joined: Apr 2011
Post: #679
RE: XThreads
Is there a way to have an active filter with odd characters, such as parentheses or slash in it?

This gives a security error:

{$filters_set['style']['active']['Gyaru(o)']}
02-06-2013 12:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ZiNgA BuRgA Offline
Fag
*******
Posts: 3,357
Joined: Jan 2008
Post: #680
RE: XThreads
XThreads doesn't care, but MyBB's template filtering is rather crap.
You could try editing that into the database directly, or remove the security check.

EDIT: if you have template conditionals, you could also use the following workaround:

Code:
<setvar foo>$filters_set['style']['active']['Gyaru(o)']</setvar>
{$GLOBALS['tplvars']['foo']}


My Blog
(This post was last modified: 02-06-2013 01:54 PM by ZiNgA BuRgA.)
02-06-2013 01:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply


Forum Jump: