XThreads
Author Message
My Spiel
XThreads is one of my larger plugins which I have been working on for a while.  Originally planned to release it inline with MyBB 1.6, but who knows when that'll be out.  It perhaps doesn't include everything I wanted it to, but does have most of the things (plus I want to move onto other projects).

What does it do?
Take a look at RateU's forum for some nice ideas of what it can do.  I also have some more basic examples here of what can be done with XThreads.  I'm pretty sure there are many other applications of this plugin, but those examples just give you some simple ideas.

The basic idea is giving you the ability to define custom fields for your threads, and providing methods to give you a lot of flexibility with customising forums.

Warning: I'm not going to bother with "beta" labels and so on.  I've done some testing on this myself, but it's by no means extensive.  Use this at your own risk.

Installation Instructions: standard installation procedures apply - you can find them in the announcement here.
You may need to CHMOD the uploads/xthreads_ul/ folder to 0777 after uploading the files (probably won't though).

Upgrade Instructions: unless stated otherwise, the general procedure for upgrades is to simply upload the new files, then visit your AdminCP.  In there, you'll be presented with a notice to run the upgrade - just follow what it says from there on.

Usage Instructions: this is a complex plugin, and unfortunately, you're probably going to have to figure this out yourself, depending on what you want to achieve with this plugin.  HTML and CSS knowledge is strongly recommended; you should also be familiar with MyBB's template system.  Some demonstrations can be found here - hopefully these will give you a good idea of how things work.  I suggest looking at the thread descriptions example, as this is fairly easy to understand (IMO).  If you can understand how everything works, there, perhaps try out the gallery example.

Known conflicting plugins
- MyPlaza Turbo -
If you are using MyPlaza Turbo, note that the author decided to use a particularly odd method to implement certain functionality, practically destroying compatibility with any plugin which hooks into the forum add/edit routines.  I've included a patch to address this issue - you need to replace inc/myplaza/myplaza_admin_plugin.php with the following file (it's unlikely that this will be committed as the author has decided to discontinue development)

.php  myplaza_admin_plugin.php (Size: 56.27 KB / Downloads: 2294)

- PL9 Forum Icons -
Affects certain functionality.  See here for a solution.

- PHP in Templates, v1.4 or older -
Similar to PL9 Forum Icons - solution is just to update to the latest version.

- MyAdvertisements - (update: older versions only, later versions may not conflict)
Affects some thread functionality, see here for a solution.

- Group Post CSS -
See here http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthre...http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthread.php?tid=378&pid=59

All bug reports, suggestions, criticisms are appreciated (though I may not always implement suggestions) so please feel free to post them.
If you find this plugin useful, I would be grateful if you could give some token of appreciation for the work that has gone into this, and perhaps post some example usages you've come up with in the XThreads forum to help others get an idea of what can be achieve with this plugin (and for my own interest's sake Tongue).


Github: https://github.com/zingaburga/XThreads-MyBB-Plugin
Note: do NOT use the Github version, unless you know what you're doing
Changelogs: v1.10, v1.20, v1.21, v1.22, v1.23, v1.24, v1.25, v1.26, v1.27, v1.30, v1.31, v1.32, v1.337, v1.40, v1.41, v1.42, v1.43, v1.44, v1.45, v1.46, v1.47, v1.50, v1.51, v1.52, v1.53, v1.60, v1.61, v1.62, v1.63, v1.64, v1.65, v1.66, v1.67, v1.68
(This post was last modified: 12-25-2015 12:46 PM by ZiNgA BuRgA.)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Download: xthreads-1.68.7z (114.53 KB)
Plugin Version: 1.68
Last Updated: 12-25-2015, 12:46 PM

Downloads: 8,326
MyBB Compatibility: 1.4.x, 1.6.x, 1.8.x
Plugin License: GPLv3
Uploader: ZiNgA BuRgA
kitten Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2011
Post: #281
RE: XThreads
Nope, the custom fields don`t appeared with default setting or with {$tfinputrow['address']} in default template + Hide Input Field set up with YES
02-26-2011 03:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #282
RE: XThreads
Again, what I meant is in a newthread page. We need to make sure that the custom thread fields (input) displayed in newthread first. Later, we will talk about the output.

You said that the custom thread fields (input / textbox) is visible in newthread with {$tfinputrow['address']} in default template + Hide Input Field set up with Yes.
(02-26-2011 03:23 AM)kitten Wrote:  When i open a new thread the custom fields are visible, they are requiered as i set them up

I would like to know whether the custom thread fields (input / textbox) appear in newthread with the default setting.

Again, we are talking about newthread page first, and about the textbox in newthread page.

02-26-2011 04:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kitten Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2011
Post: #283
RE: XThreads
(02-26-2011 04:08 AM)RateU Wrote:  Again, what I meant is in a newthread page. We need to make sure that the custom thread fields (input) displayed in newthread first. Later, we will talk about the output.


Sorry for misunderstanding. Yes, the custom field appear in newthread page even if i deleted the line {$tfinputrow['address']} from newthread template.    They were visible from the begining with default settings and they were also visible after i added the code line in the template.
(This post was last modified: 02-26-2011 04:42 AM by kitten.)
02-26-2011 04:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #284
RE: XThreads
Ah, yes. That's what I meant by this:
(02-26-2011 03:33 AM)RateU Wrote:  Just to make sure that I didn't misunderstand this:
(02-25-2011 10:09 PM)kitten Wrote:  i had added two custom fields and they dont appear at all when i create a new threads.
It seems that I've misunderstood your problem.

For the example above, try to put this variable in your postbit or postbit_classic template:

Code:
{$GLOBALS['threadfields']['address']}


02-26-2011 04:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kitten Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2011
Post: #285
RE: XThreads
Thanks for reply rateu. I modified the postbit with the new line and still no published field in the new thread Frown
(This post was last modified: 02-26-2011 04:59 AM by kitten.)
02-26-2011 04:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #286
RE: XThreads
Could you post your postbit template, please?

02-26-2011 05:01 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kitten Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2011
Post: #287
RE: XThreads
(02-26-2011 05:01 AM)RateU Wrote:  Could you post your postbit template, please?

This is the postbit file:

Code:
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
{$ignore_bit}
<a name="pid{$post['pid']}" id="pid{$post['pid']}"></a>
<table border="0" cellspacing="{$theme['borderwidth']}" cellpadding="{$theme['tablespace']}" class="tborder" style="{$post_extra_style} {$post_visibility}" id="post_{$post['pid']}">
	<tbody>
		<tr>
			<td class="tcat">
				<div class="float_left smalltext">
					{$post['postdate']}, {$post['posttime']} <span id="edited_by_{$post['pid']}">{$post['editedmsg']}</span>
				</div>
				{$post['posturl']}  {$GLOBALS['threadfields']['address']}
			</td>
		</tr>

		<tr>
			<td class="trow1 {$unapproved_shade}">
				<table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" border="0" style="width: 100%;">
					<tr>
						<td class="post_avatar" width="1" style="{$post['avatar_padding']}">
							{$post['useravatar']}
						</td>
						<td class="post_author">
							<strong><span class="largetext">{$post['profilelink']}</span></strong> {$post['onlinestatus']}<br />
							<span class="smalltext">
								{$post['usertitle']}<br />
								{$post['userstars']}
								{$post['groupimage']}
							</span>
						</td>
						<td class="smalltext post_author_info" width="165">
							{$post['user_details']}
						</td>
					</tr>
				</table>
			</td>
		</tr>

		<tr>
			<td class="trow2 post_content {$unapproved_shade}">
				<span class="smalltext"><strong>{$post['icon']}{$post['subject']} {$post['subject_extra']}</strong></span>

				<div class="post_body" id="pid_{$post['pid']}">
					{$post['message']}
				</div>
				{$post['attachments']}
				{$post['signature']}

				<div class="post_meta" id="post_meta_{$post['pid']}">
				{$post['iplogged']}
				</div>
			</td>
		</tr>

		<tr>
			<td class="trow1 post_buttons {$unapproved_shade}">
				<div class="author_buttons float_left">
					{$post['button_email']}{$post['button_pm']}{$post['button_www']}{$post['button_find']}{$post['button_rep']}
				</div>
				<div class="post_management_buttons float_right">{$post['button_edit']}{$post['button_quickdelete']}{$post['button_quote']}{$post['button_multiquote']}{$post['button_report']}{$post['button_warn']}{$post['button_reply_pm']}{$post['button_replyall_pm']}{$post['button_forward_pm']}{$post['button_delete_pm']}
				</div>
			</td>
		</tr>
	</tbody>
</table>

02-26-2011 05:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #288
RE: XThreads
It is already there, Kitten:
   

You can't view it because you put it there.
Try to put it above the {$post['message']} variable (line #42).
Something like this:

HTML Code
42
43
{$GLOBALS['threadfields']['address']}
{$post['message']}


If this works, we can style it later in Display Format.


(This post was last modified: 02-26-2011 05:23 AM by RateU.)
02-26-2011 05:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kitten Offline
Junior Member
**
Posts: 16
Joined: Feb 2011
Post: #289
RE: XThreads
(02-26-2011 05:23 AM)RateU Wrote:  It is already there, Kitten:


You can't view it because you put it there.
Try to put it above the {$post['message']} variable (line #42).
Something like this:

HTML Code
42
43
{$GLOBALS['threadfields']['address']}
{$post['message']}


If this works, we can style it later in Display Format.


Yes it works now YipiYipi  Thank you very much rateu for the help!!
I`m will re-check other threads created by you when i saw the fields listed cute with variable in front. Thank you very much you saved another 12 hours or re-cheking Yes
02-26-2011 05:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RateU Offline
Administrator
*******
Posts: 2,350
Joined: Mar 2010
Post: #290
RE: XThreads
Biggrin

When the first time I learned XThreads, I spent very very much time too Biggrin
Even until now, I only know some basic XThreads features.
I'm still learning too, Kitten Biggrin
This is a complex and an amazing tools Smile

Glad you can solve the problem Smile

02-26-2011 05:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply


Forum Jump: